2014 Runoff Election Summary

Palmer Defeats DeMarco by Large Margin

Gary Palmer, former President of the Alabama Policy Institute, defeated State Representative Paul DeMarco in the Alabama 6th Congressional District runoff by a large margin. Palmer garnered 64 percent of the vote to DeMarco’s 36 percent.

Palmer will face Democrat Avery Wise in the November General Election and is expected to win easily in the heavily Republican district.

Statewide Office Runoff Results

State Representative John Merrill defeated former Montgomery County Probate Judge Reese McKinney in the runoff for Secretary of State. Merrill received 53 percent of the vote to McKinney’s 47 percent.

Merrill will face Lula Albert-Kaigler in the November General Election.

Jim Zeigler handily defeated Dale Peterson for the Republican nomination for State Auditor. Zeigler received 65 percent of the vote to Peterson’s 35 percent.

Zeigler will face Miranda Karrine Joseph in November.

Chip Beeker defeated incumbent Terry Dunn for Public Service Commission – Place 2 with a vote of 59 percent to 41 percent.

Beeker does not face Democratic competition in the General Election, which means he will take office in November.

Several Republican Runoffs for State Senate Seats

The Republican nomination for four State Senate seats was up for grabs on Tuesday.

Tim Melson defeated Chris Seibert in the election for Senate District 1. The seat became open following Senator Tammy Irons’ (D – Florence) retirement. Melson received 56 percent of the vote to Seibert’s 44 percent.

Melson will face Democrat Mike Curtis in the General Election.

Shay Shelnutt defeated Brett King for Senate District 17 in the closest race of the night. Shelnutt received 52 percent of the vote to King’s 48 percent.

Shelnutt does not face Democratic competition in November.

Former State Representative Greg Albritton defeated Harry D’Olive for Senate District 22, which is an open seat following Senator Marc Keahey’s (D – Grove Hill) retirement. Albritton received 58 percent of the vote to D’Olive’s 42 percent.

Albritton will face Democrat Susan Smith in November.

One of the closest watched races of the night was for Senate District 30, which is an open seat following Senator Bryan Taylor’s (R – Prattville) retirement.

Clyde Chambliss easily defeated Harris Garner by a vote of 65 percent to 35 percent. Chambliss will face Independent candidate Bryan Morgan in November.

Runoffs for House Seats

Two Republican House nominations and one Democrat House nomination were decided during the runoff.

Good Hope Mayor Corey Harbison defeated incumbent Mac Buttram (R – Cullman) by a vote of 55 percent to 45 percent. Harbison does not face Democratic competition in November.

Arnold Mooney defeated Amie Beth Shaver for the Republican nomination to fill Rep. Mary Sue McClurkin’s (R – Indian Springs) seat following her retirement. Mooney does not face Democratic competition in November.

Incumbent Ralph Howard (D – Greensboro) defeated Thomas Moore by a vote of 54 percent to 47 percent. Howard will face Independent candidate Portia Shepard in November.

2014 General Election

The 2014 General Election will take place on Tuesday, November 4.